RRBBS In the ChatRoom: Nobody
User: Guest5209 (54.210.158.163)
Read Mode: Topics
  RRBBS Stats ~ Sign-Up As New User ~ Message Areas ~ FAQ

RRBBS.com Home : RRBBS : Blogger's Corner : Reading "A nice word from a birthmother" Thread

Username Password

This ad only appears to Guests viewing a message thread

Message #1004 of 1287  *NEW*
To
From
Subject
Date
All
Marie Reed  
A nice word from a birthmother
10/24/06, 9:22am
graphic
Rob and I received this e-mail from a birthmother. She saw a bit of our YouTube video, and this is what she had to say:

Hi there,

My name is Coley and I am a birthmother. I placed a child in an open adoption five years ago. Since his birth and relinquishment, I have become very involved in the adoption community. I co-founded the 2nd largest organization, BirthMom Buds, that provides support for birthmothers and pregnant women considering adoption and I'm a contract writer for Adoption Media, LLC, better known as www.adoption.com

In browsing online tonight, I came across a group of birthmothers discussing your you tube video. I must admit, when I first read that you had made a you tube video as an adoption profile, I was sure I wouldn't like it. But I am the type of person who has to see something before I make a firm opinion on it, so I went and watched it. You did something that I tell couples hoping to adopt to do time and time again - you were real! So many times, without meaning to, adoptive parents will come across sounding fake or phony in their profiles, but what I watched was so incredibly real! You let your nervousness show, you let your vulnerability show! You weren't perfect and didn't try to make yourselves out to be!